septsynapse

Today marks 10 years since the United States was attacked in an utterly shocking, surprising, disturbing way.  I will never forget that day, and how it affected me and the rest of the world.  Now, as I reflect on it a decade later, I honestly wonder if the reaction to the attacks was in the best interest of the U.S.A.?

I remember shortly after the attacks, a classmate and friend of mine told me that we [the U.S.] shouldn’t do anything.  At the time, I thought that was being weak.  Now I wonder what the world would be like today if there had been no retaliation…

What if the U.S. had made a role-model for itself as a peaceful nation, instead of the military-industrial complex-driven scenario that has unfolded?

It wouldn’t have been weak.  And ironically the U.S. wouldn’t be economically and morally weakened like it is today. 

It was a pivotal point in our history, and an opportunity lost.

Leave a Reply

