paleo

Here is a photo index of the foods I’ve been including in my current paleolithic diet.  I’m not trying to declare that it is 100% paleo, but I think its a healthy diet.

In Amsterdam I like to go to Marqt (biomarket conveniently next to work), the Noordermarkt (in the Jordaan on Saturdays), and Albert Heijn (open late and next to my apt).

Orange Juice (I grew up on Tropicana), Coconut Juice, Coconut Milk, Red wine, Coconut oil (for cooking), Green tea, Mint tea, Mocca instant coffee (this is still one of my addictions countering the diet).  In addition to these I like to drink Kefir after weight-lifting for fast protein, and Vita Coco drinks (pure vitamin water).

Broccoli, Bananas, Carrots, Berries, Sweet Potato, Apples, Mushrooms, Quinoa, Avocado.  You can also include other fruits and veggies like Onion and Lemon.

Mayo, pure Peanut Butter, Cheese flakes, Butter, Salmon (wild Alaskan if possible), bio Eggs.  Include other types of red meats, poultry, fish and nuts.

Tarragon, Honey (from local bees if possible to build up tolerance to allergies), Sesame seeds, Linseed, pure Cocao powder, Coconut flakes, Sunflower seeds, Almond flakes, Pumpkin seeds

Whey Protein, Cod Liver Oil, Vitamin C, Daily MultiVitamins, Alpha Lipoic Acid, Vitamin B.  The coconut milk mixes well for the protein shake.  Take the cod liver oil, ALA, and multi tablets daily.  Take ALA and vitamin B are a cure to take after a night out.  I’ll probably get some vitamin D supplements this year for the Dutch winter months.  All of this stuff and the coconut cooking oil can be purchased at the Natural Health Company store on Vijzelstraat in Amsterdam.

COOK ASSEMBLY

Here is a breakdown of a paleo meal that I’ve introduced into my routine.

I cook one for now and 2-3 more for later to save time, energy and keep eating the diet I want.

While stuff is boiling/ frying I prep the dishes and plastic containers with a teaspoon or pinch of different seeds/ coco flakes.  The sweet potatoes have been boiled, sliced, then evenly distributed.

The salmon filets are finished cooking.  I also fry an egg and break it up into thirds for a little more protein.

Boiled quinoa, carrots and mushrooms are added, as well as some avacado slices, and everything is topped with some dragon (tarragon in Dutch).  Could have also sprinkled some cheese bits on it but forgot.  I usually fill the plastic containers up and then have an excess proportion of veggies left for the dish meal.

This is nice with a glass of red wine, and apple slices with peanut butter for dessert!

One thought on “paleo

Leave a Reply

